How to Install Magento on windows with Xampp.

Today I have succeded to install Magento to localhost.. To Install Magento not so easy like as joomla or wordpress..Mainly magento is developed for linux operating system so if we  want to install it to windows Xp with Xampp then we need to change some entities of Xampp file which are following..

think will help you on your way. think will help you on your way

shamim_magento

Now download Magento  and sample data from here

Rename the downloaderd magento file to magento and keep the renamed file to htdocs of Xamp

now create a database name like ae magento (which I have used) and import sample data to the database magento.

and open an browser write the URL like as http://localhost/magento

then you will get a page like this.

;iecense

Just clicking agree you need to click continue then you will get a page like this…

localalize

here you have to localalize your location.. or bydefault you can click continue.. then you will get like as.

confurationhere no need to change any thing  but batabase name must be same as previous database name’magento “(which i have used). then continue…

after that you will get a adminitration page for account of admin you have to fill up these as your choice like as.

administration

Now  magento is ready.. and login the administration pannel

admin login

then enjoy  to use magento…

If you face some problem to login administration panel then use URL http://127.0.0.1/magento ok  your problem will be solved.

  1. i got an error in configuration ………before it i had done all the changes that you suggests….bt after that the Microsoft debugger will not allow me to run apache.exe…

    please help me to solve this problem

  2. No there is no news ! you can try again.First time it may be error for windows Xp using Xampp because magento mainly not configurrered for windows Xp..probems like as time execeeded or data already exist but if you try again. hope you can overcome your problem.
    thanks.

  3. error- PHP Extension “curl” must be loaded

    i cant find php.ini file in apache/bin folder that because errot above. how? any ideas?

    • you can find it inside the php folder .

    • How you have solved the problem of “error- PHP Extension “curl” must be loaded”, because i am getting same message…. Please reply

  4. i cant logon to admin site? any ideas?

  5. Try for “PrestaShop”. Another outstanding Shopping cart CMS.

    • keshav
    • September 22nd, 2009

    it’s not allowing me to install, in configuration step stuck, it’s not allowing to run my apache server????

  6. Hi

    I have tried to setup Magento using methods but are my attempts where to no avail.

    I have changed my extensions in the php.ini files but still receive the following error:

    Your server does not meet the following requirements in order to install Magento.
    The following requirements failed, please contact your hosting provider in order to receive assistance with meeting the system requirements for Magento:

    * You need MySQL 4.1.20 (or greater)
    * You are missing the curl extension
    * You are missing the mcrypt extension

    The following requirements were successfully met:

    * You have PHP 5.2.0 (or greater)
    * Safe Mode is off
    * You have the dom extension
    * You have the gd extension
    * You have the hash extension
    * You have the iconv extension
    * You have the pcre extension
    * You have the pdo extension
    * You have the pdo_mysql extension
    * You have the simplexml extension

    If anyone can help I would really appreciate it and even later give something back.I really need Magento setup by Thursday 01/10/09 as I need to start with a project on friday.

    I am new to Magento and have to familirize myself with the code but my first challenge is the installation.

    Thanks in advance.

    Nathan

  7. Dear HafisBd,
    if you still have faced some problem to login admin panel then write URL lke as http://127.0.0.1/magento then your problem will be solved.

  8. Dear,
    kazi abdullah al Mamun (sumon) vai thanks for your nice suggestion…yes I will try it very soon.

    • avon
    • November 14th, 2009

    i encountered this massage when i got to the magento installation phase:
    “Fatal error: Method Varien_Object::__tostring() cannot take arguments in C:\xampp\htdocs\magento\lib\Varien\Object.php on line 488″
    can you help me to recover from this error?

    • same problem with my problem, when I can post the solution, please e-mail sent to me also ..
      I am very confused ..

  9. Awesome affair, I didn’t thought reading this was going to be so amazing when I klicked at your title!!

    • Rashed
    • December 27th, 2009

    Dear shamim Bhai,

    i usually use Xampp 1.5 version. you mention two problem, I solve
    First problem after some time I go solve second problem i get not “php.ini” which is mentioned in your site then i download “php_curl.dll“this past proper location. After some time i do reinstall magento some problem “PHP Extension “curl” must be loaded”

    Please give me easy way. I wait your response.

    • Nayan Paul
    • December 30th, 2009

    1– >Go to C:\xampp\htdocs\magento\app\code\core\Mage\Core\Model\Session\Abstract\Varien.php
    2–> Comment the Line Number 78 to 84 i.e

    /* session_set_cookie_params(
    $this->getCookie()->getLifetime(),
    $this->getCookie()->getPath(),
    $this->getCookie()->getDomain(),
    $this->getCookie()->isSecure(),
    $this->getCookie()->getHttponly()
    );*/

    Save Now .

    • Nayan Paul
    • December 30th, 2009

    Note Magento-1.3.2.4 doesnot support php 5.3.1 or php5.3.0

    So if u use XAMPP 1.7.3 or XAMPP 1.7.2 Magento will not installed and it will show
    “Fatal error: Method Varien_Object::__tostring() cannot take arguments in C:\xampp\htdocs\magento\lib\Varien\Object.php on line 488″

    You should Installed XAMPP for Windows Version 1.7.1

    Then Installed Magento ..
    After Installed follow this

    1– >Go to C:\xampp\htdocs\magento\app\code\core\Mage\Core\Model\Session\Abstract\Varien.php
    2–> Comment the Line Number 78 to 84 i.e

    /* session_set_cookie_params(
    $this->getCookie()->getLifetime(),
    $this->getCookie()->getPath(),
    $this->getCookie()->getDomain(),
    $this->getCookie()->isSecure(),
    $this->getCookie()->getHttponly()
    );*/

    Save Now .

    • Nayan Paul
    • December 30th, 2009

    Hello Mr @avon Please Follow This

    • tabraiz
    • January 3rd, 2010

    Asalaam Alaikum wrb,

    Mashallah Nice blog ! good keep it up.

    I need some kind of help on magento installation.

    i got Magento installation wizard but when i cleck Next option to move to localization page. It does not perform any action.

    It would be my pleasure if anybody helps me on resolving this issue.

    looking forward ur comments

    Thanks so much

    • tabraiz
    • January 3rd, 2010

    Aoa wrb,

    i am getting one error during magento installation:

    “PHP Extension must be loaded”

    plz anybody can help me

    Thank you,

  10. I figured out how to install Magento locally onto my computer running Windows XP. Here is a step by step guide on how to install Magento with no errors! http://www.jvfconsulting.com/blog/117/How_To_Install_Magento_Locally_On_Windows_XP.html

    • chris
    • February 22nd, 2010

    I was able to resolve the “getting stuck at” configuration setup part by manually creating the DB name in the PhPmyAdmin.

    Now, my problem is logging into the backend part of Magento. Why won’t it let me log in? It just keeps reloading the same admin page.

    i’m using Xampp 1.7, Magento latest ver and Apache.

    Thanks!

  11. use URL http://127.0.0.1/magento then ok your problem will be solved.

  12. “use URL http://127.0.0.1/magento then ok your problem will be solved.”

    Not solved for me… when I put in my admin password and click “login” It just refreshes the page and goes nowhere whether I use the url http://localhost/magento or http://127.0.0.1/magento

    Not sure what the problem is.

    • Problem solved! You need to delete the cache and session folder located at /magento/var forlder

    • ramsai
    • April 15th, 2010

    boss already i am working on magento project online
    with the help of svn. Again i am not able to run the magento? Is it possible to run magento again?
    please tell me the pros and cons

    • katja
    • May 19th, 2010

    Thx!! That helps!!

    Greetings Katja

    • Andy
    • May 28th, 2010

    Hi John, You have to use some other web browser. If you are using mozilla then try it on opera or google chrome. It will surely work…

  13. I’m using the latest version of magento. I can’t login in the admin panel. When I use the http://127.0.0.1/magento/admin it will be redirected to http://localhost/magento/.
    Please Help! thanks.

    • Ananga Samanta
    • August 4th, 2010

    I’m using the latest version of magento. I can’t login admin part at first time, off the code and try login…

    1– >Go to C:\xampp\htdocs\magento\app\code\core\Mage\Core\Model\Session\Abstract\Varien.php
    2–> Comment the Line Number 78 to 84 i.e

    /*$cookieParams = array(
    ‘lifetime’ => $cookie->getLifetime(),
    ‘path’ => $cookie->getPath(),
    ‘domain’ => $cookie->getConfigDomain(),
    ‘secure’ => $cookie->isSecure(),
    ‘httponly’ => $cookie->getHttponly()
    );*/

    • Mirza Twhidul Imran
    • August 29th, 2010

    I was tried to install magento on my localhost server. At first time I install magento 1.4.1 on xampp-win32-1.7.2. then I drop all the data after installation. Then upload sample data 1.2.0. and catalog file into media directory folder and again install. But at the time of provide database information and clicked continue. It shows me an error which is:

    Fatal error: Call to a member function insert() on a non-object in F:\\xampp\\htdocs\\magent\\app\\code\\core\\Mage\\Core\\Model\\Mysql4\\Resource.php on line 96

    Plz tell anybody how will I solved it. Your favor will appreciated.

    Thnx.

    Mirza Twhidul Imran

  14. Just delete all data from cache then install again. hope your problem will be solved. and enjoy it.

    • Mirza Twhidul Imran
    • August 31st, 2010

    Brother Shamim I delete all data from my cache. But the error massage is showing:Fatal error: Call to a member function insert() on a non-object in F:\\xampp\\htdocs\\magent\\app\\code\\core\\Mage\\Core\\Model\\Mysql4\\Resource.php on line 96

    Note Here, I download Magento 1.4.1 and Sample Data 1.2.0 form magento site.

    • do you have 1 under your connection in app/etc/local.xml? One of my devs just has this issue and that fixed it

    • jatin joshi
    • September 12th, 2010

    thanks i was able to install magento using xampp as shown by you and big thanks to nayan paul

    • Tauseef
    • December 13th, 2010

    As/wa..

    i followed above installation steps on windows, i kept downloaded folder in xampp htdocs folder i will run that page.installation page come, when i continue the 3rd page database name, username, password etc.. following error will occurred.

    “There has been an error processing your request

    Exception printing is disabled by default for security reasons.

    Error log record number: 956082732″

    please help me why this thing will happen.

    Thanks

    • vinod
    • February 4th, 2011

    same error url redirect problem help me

    vinod

  15. hey guys here is the simple solution
    for Windows XP with wammp / xammp any server
    open run commend and type
    c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    open it with notepad and change localhost to http://www.localhost.com
    after that type http://www.localhost.com to your browser address bar then install magento

    visit http://www.ingenious-vision.net

    • Jawed
    • March 25th, 2011

    Dear Shamim,

    Assalam Walaikum

    I was installing magento-1.5.0.1 on our local machine.
    During installation process i found an error in configuration which stated that “Please enter the valid URL. Protocol is required (http://, https:// or ftp://)” although i have entered http://localhost/magento/

    Please help me in solving the error.

    • greatprince
    • April 1st, 2011

    thankx its working

    • sanjay
    • May 25th, 2011
  16. Hi,

    I tried to install magento 1.5 under xampp windows 1.7.3 on local machine (OS – windows 7). I’m stuck in configuration page. I already read through above mentioned problem solving ways but I cannot overcome this page :(

    It says “You need MySQL 4.1.20 (or greater)”. I think MySQL version 5.1.x is used in xampp windows 1.7.3. Isn’t it ?

    How should I try this problem ? Pls help me :(

  17. Thanks shamim vi, i have just started my journey with magento, your tutorial makes me easy to handle the primary stage.

  18. Quite good post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that Ive truly enjoyed surfing about your weblog posts. Soon after all I is going to be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write once again quite soon! 60259

    • adventmedia
    • January 24th, 2012

    I still get the error:

    PHP extension “curl” must be loaded.

    • remove the comment before the “curl” extension in php.ini and restart the server. then it will be solved

    • http://andcarinsurancequotes.com
    • March 20th, 2012

    Regards for this marvelous post, I am glad I discovered this web site on yahoo.

    • manohar
    • June 2nd, 2012

    i was not able to install.

    following steps mentioned in this article my installation is succesful.
    many thanks
    manohar

    • Vikas Kumar
    • June 4th, 2012

    When I am searching for php.ini file, I am getting two files in the folder php.ini-development and php.ini-production. I have edited the curl part in both but I am still getting the error as “PHP extension “curl” must be loaded.” Please help in resolving this problem.
    Thanks in advance…

  19. xamp / XP installation…all went well until…home / index opens fine, log in page for Admin opens, typer credentials, submit and this is what I get…Fatal error: Class ‘Mage_Adminhtml_Block_Dashboard_Grid’ not found in magento\app\code\core\Mage\Adminhtml\Block\Dashboard\Orders\Grid.php on line 36
    Any suggestions?? I have spent countless hours searching for answer with no luck.
    Thanks

    • Mijanur Hossain
    • August 23rd, 2012

    The URL “http://localhost/magento/” is invalid.

    How can I do here?

    • reena
    • October 12th, 2012

    Thanks a lot!!!

  20. Hi there Shamim,

    Great work, i’ve got everything running with this guide, although where would the catalog folder in the sample data media folder be uploaded to in the hcdocs?

  21. really good post, i certainly adore this website, go on it

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

